叶酸缺乏

叶酸存在于多种食物中,一般从绿叶蔬菜、 芽菜、 水果、啤酒酵母和动物产品(如牛奶、 乳制品、 蛋黄和肝脏)中摄入。

不幸的是,食品中所含的叶酸很不稳定,容易氧化;食品加工、制造和贮存过程中,它们很快失去活性,最终剩余25-50%生物利用率,具体决于食品的种类。在室温下保存的新鲜叶类蔬菜可在三天之内,失去其叶酸活性的70%,在水中的烹调过程能使损失增加到95%。

由于人类不能合成叶酸,且其为水溶性营养素,机体能存储下来的叶酸是有限。为此叶酸可以说是一种膳食需求,必须由饮食摄入。无论我们摄入含有天然叶酸的食品还是含合成衍生叶酸的食品,它们都会被代谢成5-甲基四氢叶酸,这是B族维生素叶酸的生物活性形式。

revolutionary folate

Deficiency

叶酸缺乏是最常见的营养缺乏的状况之一,可能出现于以下情况:膳食摄入量不足时;需要量大于摄入量时 (如妊娠、 哺乳期、 儿童生长发育等特定生理条件);吸收/排泄(或流失失)发生变化时,当新陈代谢或药物的使用干扰到机体利用叶酸时。

还有几种情况也可以导致营养叶酸的缺乏,例如酶的缺陷、 吸收不良、 消化系统疾病、 肝脏疾病、细胞迅速更新,如组织迅速增长时期 (婴儿期、 儿童期和青少年期) 、怀孕和哺乳。

在严重缺乏的情况下,可引起许多临床上的异常,包括巨幼红细胞性贫血、 心血管疾病、 天生神经管缺陷 (NTDs) 和癌变。叶酸缺乏与高水平同型半胱氨酸、 脑血管和神经系统的疾病、情绪异常有关。

叶酸不足可能无症状显现或表现为贫血、 腹泻、 食欲不振、 体重减轻。此外也有虚弱、 舌痛、 头痛、 心悸、 易怒、 和行为障碍的症状。

Clinical research emphasizes the importance of folate supplementation in:

• Neural-tube defect

• Male and female infertility

• Spontaneous abortion

• Coronary heart disease

• Macrocytic anaemia

• Methotrexate therapy

• Epilepsy

• Irritable bowel disease

• Cognitive deficits in elderly

• Lifestyle putting people at risk of low folate levels:

  • Smoking
  • Alcohol excess
  • Eating disorders
  • Low vegetables intake
  • Chronic dieting

Download the WHITE PAPER to know all about Quatrefolic®

FOLATE DEFICIENCY

Folates are normally found in a wide variety of foods and are commonly consumed through a diet of green leafy vegetables, sprouts, fruits, brewer's yeast, and animal products such as milk and dairy products, egg yolk and liver.

Unfortunately folates contained in foods are unstable and susceptible to oxidation; they rapidly lose activity during food processing, manufacturing and storage and have a bioavailability range of 25-50%, depending on the kind of food. Fresh leafy vegetables stored at room temperature may lose up to 70% of their folate activity within three days and a cooking process in water can increase the loss to 95%.

Humans cannot synthesize folate and because of its water soluble nature, the body stores folate to a limited extent. For this reason folate represents a dietary requirement and must be consumed by diet. Whether we ingest food containing natural or synthetically-derived folates, they are metabolized to 5-methyltetrahydrofolate, which is considered the biologically active form of the B-vitamin folic acid.

revolutionary folate

Deficiency

Folate deficiency represents one of the most common nutritional deficiencies and may occur when dietary intake is inadequate, when an increased need is not matched by an increased intake (particular physiological conditions such as pregnancy, lactation, child growth), when there is altered absorption/excretion (or losses) and when metabolism or drug use interferes with the ability of the body to use folate.

Several conditions can lead to nutritional folate deficiency such as enzyme defects, malabsorption, digestive system pathology, liver disease but also conditions with a high rate of cell turnover such as rapid tissue growth (infants, kids and adolescents) pregnancy and lactation.

In severe cases deficiency can cause many clinical abnormalities, including macrocytic anemia, cardiovascular diseases, birth neural tube defects (NTDs) and carcinogenesis. Folate deficiency is associated with elevated levels of homocysteine, cerebrovascular and neurological diseases, and mood disorders.

Deficiency of folate may be asymptomatic or present with symptoms of anemia, diarrhea, loss of appetite, and weight loss. Additional signs are weakness, sore tongue, headaches, heart palpitations, irritability, and behavioral disorders.

Clinical research emphasizes the importance of folate supplementation in:

• Neural-tube defect

• Male and female infertility

• Spontaneous abortion

• Coronary heart disease

• Macrocytic anaemia

• Methotrexate therapy

• Epilepsy

• Irritable bowel disease

• Cognitive deficits in elderly

• Lifestyle putting people at risk of low folate levels:

  • Smoking
  • Alcohol excess
  • Eating disorders
  • Low vegetables intake
  • Chronic dieting


Download the WHITE PAPER to know all about Quatrefolic®