应用

人类需要在不同的年龄阶段保持充足的叶酸摄入量 。

叶酸在细胞分裂和DNA合成中起到重要作用,并参与人体生长发育。叶酸缺乏将对生命中各个阶段的健康造成深远的负面影响,并且可能是多种疾病的病因,包括但不限于:神经管缺陷(NTDs),贫血,各种形式的心血管疾病,阿尔茨海默氏病和骨质疏松症。所有这些疾病都是20世纪世界各国普遍的健康问题。

Folate deficiency symptoms

Folate deficiency may have the following symptoms:

• Weakness
• Irritability
• Lack of energy
• Loss of appetite
• Paleness
• Sore, red tongue
• Mild mental symptoms, such as forgetfulness and confusion
• Diarrhea

当人体细胞的生长非常活跃时,比如怀孕时期,叶酸的需求将会增加。研究发现,低饮食摄入叶酸会增加分娩时婴幼儿出现若干种生育缺陷的风险,特别是神经管缺陷(NTD),并且可能导致胎儿或胎盘生长不良。

围孕期和怀孕后第一阶段,由于妇女往往不知道自己怀孕了,这两个阶段是补充叶酸尤为重要的时期。

建议所有妇女至少在受孕期前一个月叶酸摄入量应该在较高水平,并且维持到怀孕后的第三个月。

Quatrefolic®作为(6S)-5-甲基四氢叶酸的一个来源,其提供叶酸的营养活性形式,在孕前、孕期和哺乳期将会显得特别有用。

脊柱裂和无脑畸形是最常见的神经管缺陷(NTDs),在随机对照试验中,已证实在受孕前和妊娠早期,以前受过NTD影响的孕妇体内叶酸的补给减少了72%的神经管缺陷复发率。

来自美国的出生数据表明,与叶酸强化前(1995年10月至1996年12月)NTDs的患病率相比,强制性叶酸强化后(1999年12月至1998年10月),NTDs出生患病率下降19%,脊柱裂发病率下降23%(Honein)。

叶酸是一种重要的营养物质,当人体细胞的生长非常活跃时,叶酸缺乏可降低整体生长速度。婴幼儿,儿童和青少年是生长的关键阶段,推荐摄入适当水平的叶酸以预防各种疾病,例如贫血

男性和女性成长过程中饮食摄入叶酸推荐量已确定。

医学研究所。食品与营养委员会。膳食参考摄入量:硫胺素,核黄素,烟酸,维生素B6,叶酸,维生素B12,泛酸,生物素和胆碱。国家科学院出版社。华盛顿特区,1998年。“

Quatrefolic®的使用水平跟其他叶酸一样。

在人类老龄化过程中会发生许多物理变化和生理变化。一些研究已经聚焦于这些变化是如何影响成年人和老年人的营养需求,以及饮食和营养会如何影响或改变这些正在变化的功能。

老龄化伴随着胃肠功能变化,可能影响不同形式叶酸的吸收。由于这些变化,维生素B12缺乏症、叶酸缺乏症和铁缺乏症在老年人中有较高的发病率。对于血液形成,神经功能,心血管功能来说,这些缺乏症是非常重要的。

研究表明,我们可以使用营养方式进一步控制心脏疾病。最近的研究发现,高半胱胺酸,类似于血液中的胆固醇,会增加向冠状动脉疾病的患病风险。血液中高半胱氨酸水平在人类中由维生素B12、维生素B6和叶酸水平控制。

流行病学研究和案例观察表明,血液中低水平的叶酸与记忆力差、痴呆和阿尔茨海默氏病相关。叶酸缺乏和记忆力差之间的联系可能是由于叶酸在降低高半胱氨酸血液及其血管系统的影响方面的作用。

关于叶酸的补充

强化摄入叶酸应该是老龄化的叶酸缺乏症的解决办法,但对老年人可能造成不利影响。如果高浓度的叶酸是从强化食品中吸收的,这可能会掩盖导致恶性贫血及周围神经损伤的维生素B12缺乏症的诊断。

Quatrefolic® 不会掩盖vitamin B12 缺乏症

由于Quatrefolic®(6S)-5-甲基四氢叶酸不会掩盖维生素B12缺乏症,Quatrefolic®应该给出正确的方式来降低同型半胱氨酸的血药浓度,减少潜在的疾病掩盖情况的发生。

临床研究指出,精神活力、痴呆、阿尔茨海默氏病和脑部叶酸状态之间可能存在某种联系。此外,脑部叶酸状态和抑郁之间可能有直接的联系。

此外,叶酸和同型半胱氨酸代谢的关联已在男性和女性的低生育能力中表现出来。

血浆叶酸水平与自然流产的危险

有研究指出,胚胎细胞的迅速生长导致缺乏足够的叶酸。未能产生足够的DNA和无法调节DNA功能可能会导致自然流产。

贫血

叶酸与维生素B12一起在巨幼细胞贫血的治疗中有着悠久的历史。根据病人的临床状况,治疗巨幼细胞贫血的叶酸或5-甲基四氢叶酸的剂量会有相应的变化,但每日治疗剂量通常为800-1000微克。补充叶酸治疗巨幼细胞贫血的疗程在可短至15天,也可能需要延长补充时间。

巨幼细胞贫血的特征是红细胞比正常情况下要大。红细胞也会变形,并且其生产速率和寿命都会降低。叶酸性贫血通常发生在婴幼儿、青少年、孕妇及哺乳期女性、酗酒人员和老年人中,通常伴随着恶性疾病或肠道疾病的发生。

同型半胱氨酸血症

同型半胱氨酸是造成冠状动脉,大脑和外周血管病的独立因素。

甚至当血浆叶酸浓度刚好在目前公认的适当状态的范围内时,这也成立。

同型半胱氨酸诱导的细胞功能障碍的分子机制包括炎症细胞因子表达的增加,一氧化氮生物利用度的改变,氧化应激诱导,细胞凋亡和有缺陷甲基化的激活。

目前若干个随机安慰剂对照试验正在进行,以探查叶酸治疗是否能通过降低血液中高半胱氨酸水平从而减少心血管疾病的患病风险。

通常,减少已经升高的血浆高半胱氨酸意味着不仅降低了心血管疾病、神经管缺陷、其他出生缺陷的风险,改变了雄性和雌性生育力,而且降低了阿尔茨海默氏病、认知衰退、骨质疏松症、类风湿关节炎、肾功能衰竭和癌症的风险。

抑郁症,认知障碍,老年痴呆症和阿尔茨海默症

研究表明,精神生活力、痴呆、阿尔茨海默氏病和脑部叶酸状态之间存在某种联系。此外,脑部叶酸状态和抑郁之间可能有直接的联系。

研究发现脑脊液(CSF)中叶酸水平随着年龄增加而下降,并且已经证实叶酸水平和心理功能,尤其是抑郁症和老年痴呆有着因果关系。叶酸缺乏可导致心情郁闷,所以补充叶酸可能对某些抑郁症患者有益处

Download the WHITE PAPER to know all about Quatrefolic®

APPLICATIONS

Humans need to maintain an adequate dietary intake of folate during various stages of their lives.

Folate plays an essential role in cell division and DNA synthesis and is involved in human growth and development. Folate deficiency has far-reaching negative health consequences at all stages of life and has been implicated in the etiology of a variety of disorders including but not limited to neural tube defects (NTDs), anemia, various forms of cardiovascular diseases, Alzheimer's disease and osteoporosis, all which have become pervasive health issues around the world in the 20th century.

Folate deficiency symptoms

Folate deficiency may have the following symptoms:

• Weakness
• Irritability
• Lack of energy
• Loss of appetite
• Paleness
• Sore, red tongue
• Mild mental symptoms, such as forgetfulness and confusion
• Diarrhea

The demand for folate increases when human cell growth is very active, such as in pregnancy. Studies have found that low dietary intake of folate increases the risk of delivering a child with several types of birth defects, particularly neural tube defects (NTD) and possibly leading to poor growth in the fetus or placenta.

Periconceptional and the first period after conception are particularly important for folate supplementation especially because a woman often does not know she is pregnant.

It is recommended that for all women folate levels should be high for at least one month prior to possible conception and continued at that level for the first three months of pregnancy.

Quatrefolic® as a source of (6S)-5-methyltetrahydrofolate might be particularly useful to provide the nutritionally active form of folate during preconception, pregnancy and lactation.

Spina bifida and anencephaly are the most common neural tube defects (NTDs) and, in randomized controlled trials, folic acid supplementation before conception and during the first trimester has been shown to reduce the recurrence of NTDs by 72% in women with a previous NTD affected pregnancy.

Data from USA birth certificates indicate a 19% decline in the birth prevalence of NTDs and a 23% decline in the spina bifida prevalence among births conceived after mandatory folic acid fortification (October 1998 through December 1999) compared with the NTD prevalence before folic acid fortification (October 1995 through December 1996) (Honein).

Folate is a critical nutrient when human cell growth is very active and folate deficiency can slow overall growth rate. Infants, children and adolescents are in a critical phase of growth and the proper level of folate is recommended to prevent a variety of medical conditions such as anemia.

Recommended dietary intake of folate for males and females during the age of growth has been defined.

Institute of Medicine. Food and Nutrition Board. Dietary Reference Intakes: Thiamin, riboflavin, niacin, vitamin B6, folate, vitamin B12, pantothenic acid, biotin, and choline. National Academy Press. Washington, DC, 1998."

Quatrefolic® use levels will be the same as that of folate.

There are numerous physical and physiological changes which occur during the aging processes. Several studies have focused on understanding how these changes can influence adults and elderly nutritional requirements, and also how diet and nutrition may influence or modify these changing functions.

Ageing is associated with changes in gastrointestinal function that could possibly affect the absorption of different folate forms. Partly as a result of these changes, a higher incidence of vitamin B12, folate and iron deficiency occurs in older people. This deficiency may be important with respect to blood formation, neurologic function, and cardiovascular function.

Research findings indicate that we can further control heart disease by nutritional means. Recent research shows that the amino acid homocysteine, like blood cholesterol, is a factor that contributes to the risk of coronary disease. The blood level of homocysteine is controlled in humans to a large extent by vitamin B12, vitamin B6, and folic acid.

Epidemiological studies and case observations have suggested that low concentrations of folate in the blood are related to poor cognitive function, dementia and Alzheimer's disease. It has been hypothesized that the relationship between folate deficiency and poor cognitive function may be due to the role of folate in reducing homocysteine blood and its effects on the vascular system.

Concerns about folic acid supplementation

Folic acid intake by fortification should represent an answer to decrease folate deficiency associated with ageing, but some concerns about possible adverse effects in elderly people are present. If high levels of folic acid are consumed from fortified foods, this may mask the diagnosis of vitamin B12 deficiency leading to pernicious anaemia and peripheral nerve damage.

Quatrefolic® does not mask vitamin B12

Quatrefolic®, as (6S)-5-methyltetrahydrofolate, does not mask vitamin B12 deficiency and should represents the right way to decrease homocysteine blood concentration, diminishing the potential for masking.

Clinical studies point out that there could be an association between mental vitality, dementia, Alzheimer's disease and the folate status of the brain. In addition, there might be a direct link between cerebral folate status and depression.

Furthermore, the involvement of folate and homocysteine metabolism has been documented in male and female subfertility.

Plasma folate levels and risk of spontaneous abortion

It has been suggested that the rapidly developing cells in the embryo may suffer from a lack of adequate folate. Failure to produce sufficient DNA and to regulate DNA function could lead to spontaneous abortion.

Anemia

Folate has a long history of use in conjunction with vitamin B12 for the treatment of macrocytic anemia. Depending on the clinical status of the patient, the dose of folic acid or 5-methyltetrahydrofolate required to reverse macrocytic anemia varies, but the therapeutic dose is usually 800-1,000 µg daily. The duration of therapy to reverse macrocytic anemia can be as short as 15 days after initiation of supplementation, or it may require prolonged supplementation.

Megaloblastic anemia is characterized by red blood cells that are larger than normal. The red blood cells are also deformed, and both their rate of production and their lifespan are diminished. Folate anemia occurs most often in infants, adolescents, pregnant and lactating females, alcoholics, the elderly, and in those with malignant or intestinal diseases.

Hyperhomocysteinemia

Homocysteinemia is widely accepted as an independent risk factor for coronary, cerebral, and peripheral vascular diseases.

This has been observed even when presupplementation plasma folate concentrations were well within the range of values currently accepted as reflecting adequate status.

Molecular mechanisms of homocysteine-induced cellular dysfunction include increased inflammatory cytokine expression, altered nitric oxide bioavailability, induction of oxidative stress, activation of apoptosis and defective methylation.

Several randomised placebo-controlled trials are presently being conducted to establish whether folic acid supplementation reduces the risk of cardiovascular diseases by lowering homocysteine blood levels.

Generally, reducing elevated plasma homocysteine means lowering not only an independent risk factor for cardiovascular disease, neural tube defects, other birth defects and altered male and female fertility, but also, Alzheimer's disease, cognitive decline, osteoporosis, rheumatoid arthritis, kidney failure, and cancer.

Depression, Cognitive Impairment, Dementia & Alzheimer

Studies suggest that there is an association between mental vitality, dementia, Alzheimer's disease and the folate status of the brain. In addition, there might be a direct link between cerebral folate status and depression.

A decline in folate levels in the cerebral spinal fluid (CSF) with age has been recognized and there is evidence causally relating folate levels to mental function, especially depression and dementia. Folate deficiency can contribute to depressed mood, and therefore folate supplementation may be useful for some depressed patients.


Download the WHITE PAPER to know all about Quatrefolic®